Yesterday marked the first day of National Women’s Health Week. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Office on Women’s Health organized this week long effort to get Women to be more conscious of their health. Women are being encouraged to:

  • Visit a health care professional to receive regular checkups and preventive screenings.
  • Get active.
  • Eat healthy.
  • Pay attention to mental health, including getting enough sleep and managing stress.
  • Avoid unhealthy behaviors, such as smoking and not wearing a seatbelt or bicycle helmet. [1]
It is important that we as women of color are conscious of our health. I suggest visiting Black Women’s Health Imperative for more information on health issues pertaining to women of color. Later this week I will be sharing ways that I am taking control of my health and some  changes I’ve made in order to be the healthiest Queen I can be. Stay tuned!

Source: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women’s Health

