I’m a sucka for new music, especially independent artists. This month we present to you Rahimah. Hailing from Brooklyn, NY, Rahimah dropped her highly anticipated single “This Is It” January 1st and it’s been burning up the streets since then. Rahimah took time out of her busy schedule to chat with us.

Musical influences growing up?
Some of my influences growing up include Roberta Flack, Lauryn Hill, Phyllis Hyman, Natalie Cole, Sarah Vaughn, Carmen Macrae, Stevie Wonder, Brandy, Gloria Lynn, MC Lyte, Oleta Adams, Amel Larrieux, Nancy Wilson, Sade, Queen Latifah, George Benson, Toni Braxton, D’Angelo, Maxwell, Donny Hathaway and so on.

What are your fondest musical memories? In your house? In your neighborhood or town?
I have most musical memories of my mom performing and playing music. I also remember sitting in my hallway for hours listening to my mom sing and record herself on cassette to Phyllis Hyman, Roberta Flack, Diana Ross and Natalie Cole albums. That was like a concert for me every other day and also watching her make oldie-but-goodies tapes.

When did you know you wanted to become a singer?
I felt like I may have wanted to be on stage after I saw Gloria Lynn at the Tribeca theatre when I was young. That was a treat for me, she was one of the most dynamic performers I’d ever seen live and it was just her on stage.

Do you play any instruments?
I use to study piano off and on but I stopped. Now I’m reintroducing myself to my guitar. One day soon I will be fluent.

Outside of music, what else do you enjoy doing? Any hidden talents?
A lot of things, I love videotaping stuff, capturing the moment. I always enjoyed dance as an art and use to want to be a B-girl, hilarious. Creative writing helps me relax, I love imitating people also.

If you weren’t singing, what would you be doing?
Well I’d be into video/ media production or teaching Africana Studies and geography.

Where is your dream place to perform, if you haven’t performed their yet?
Apollo. I watched it every Saturday growing up so that would be cool, and it’s legendary.

What can we expect from you in the future?
I have a mixtape called “Mercy” coming early this year 2012 and I’m also featured on a compilation album called Today Tomorrow Forever with other HipSoul Ent artists, and that’s coming out soon along with more videos and shows. I’d like to always put out and write music that’s positive and from the soul. So hopefully that’s what people will take from my music when it comes out!

What is your motto or advice you live by?
I feel like growth is what’s happening to me now on my journey in music and as a young adult, and in that I try to be conscious to always remain in touch with my roots when writing and performing, spreading good messages to humanity and I recommend it from my generation. I’m witnessing the world as it is and my surroundings so I often have to remind myself to “Let go and let God” as things become more complex in my little brain.

We can’t wait to hear more from this rising star. In the meantime, download “This Is It” for FREE, and make sure you “Like” Rahimah on Facebook and follow her on Twitter.

Check out her video!!!

